cooking

Vegan Chili

Vegan ChiliI didn’t create this recipe, my friend Genna did after some gentle prodding that went something like this:

“Genna, I really like Amy’s spicy chili but I feel like I can make a super big batch of it myself for cheaper. SOS send help!!!!” “I have a recipe, I’ll get it for you later.”

And then later I got a Facebook message saying that she couldn’t find her recipe so she recreated it to make sure she had gotten it right. It’s so good.

Vegan Chili
Ingredients:

 

    • 1 block extra firm tofu, mashed
    • 1 big can diced tomatoes (I used 2 smaller cans, which is a few oz. more)
    • 1 can black beans
    • 1 can great northern white beans
    • 1 can kidney beans
    • 1 tbsp coconut oil (or oil of your choice)
    • 1 onion, chopped
    • 4 cloves garlic, minced
    • 3 jalapeños, minced
    • 1 c frozen corn
    • 2 tbsp cumin
    • 2 tbsp chili powder
    • 1 tbsp garlic powder
    • 1 tsp liquid smoke

Steps for cooking in a slow cooker:

  1. Pre-cook onion and garlic a tad in the oil (I used olive, Genna uses coconut.)
  2. Put drained block of tofu into pot and smash it up to save on dishes.
  3. Add everything else to the pot/slow cooker EXCEPT liquid smoke. Beans should be drained & rinsed. Tomatoes should include liquid. Stir well
  4. Cook on high for 4 hours and then low for 2. Check in on it and stir periodically. Enjoy with your choice of toppings. I like immediately un-veganing it by adding cheese and scooping some of the chili with tortilla chips.

The tomatoes and tofu will eventually release liquids, I promise. I was skeptical at first but the resulting chili was the perfect thickness. And it was so good that my father, who has probably never even had tofu before enjoyed it!

Standard

Leave a Reply

