bookshelf

August 2015 Bookshelf

I dropped the ball in August, y’all. I’m casually blaming it on the fact that I spent 4 days in Asheville flanked in 12 hours of travel on either side. Keeping my eyes open was a struggle. FOR REALS. That’s not what this post is about though. Asheville post to come.
On the bright side, I rearranged my main bookshelf. And I’ve got my room back in order after an ENTIRE SUMMER of renovations. Yikes.
That said, 8 books is nothing to turn my nose up at, especially seeing as Pioneer Girl is massive. Especially if you’re reading all of the annotations. And I managed to sneak in 2 books from August in my July list because I’m a confused mess. Seriously Goodreads, your mobile app needs updating.
Excuses, excuses. This post is late. I know. Trying to get my head in the game in all other aspects of my life has been a struggle. But here I am.
August 2015 Bookshelf

  • Long Walk to Valhalla – Adam Smith (w.) Matthew Fox (i.) : See here
  • Blood Promise – Richelle Mead : See here
  • Bloodlines – Richelle Mead :
    4/5 Where do I even start with this. I feel… kind of let down? I really enjoy the Vampire Academy series. Like, genuinely more than I probably should for a grown(ish) woman. But Sydney Sage let me down. This book seems like kind of a cash grab because the original series did well. But Sydney is just so incompetent and tight laced and boring. The highlights of this book are Christian being broody Christian, Sydney having a complete and utter meltdown whenever anyone does any kind of magic near her and Eddie fawning over Jill even though she’s sort of awful and I really just want Eddie to be happy ‘cause he’s had such a rough couple of years. Though apparently it’s only been like a year? I would check if I hadn’t returned my (digital) copy to the library. But this is some PLL level timeline. So you’re probably like, well, Meghan why tf did you give it 4 stars then? Because it was kind of an entertaining shit show.
  • This One Summer – Mariko Tamaki (w.) Jillian Tamaki (i.) :
    3/5 I really wanted to love this. I love the art (the blue!) but there seems to be something missing that I can’t quite put my finger on. Maybe it’s because nothing has really resolved itself at the end? Maybe it’s because no one really learned any lessons? Rose is bratty and acts as though the world revolves around her (who doesn’t at that age?) but there’s seemingly no development in her personality, she just internalizes everything and leaves the lake in a little storm cloud. I don’t necessarily need everything wrapped up with a tidy bow, but I feel that the story would have been better off had there been an inkling that Rose wasn’t going to be so self-centered, or that Windy realized she could do better in the friend department. Someone wrote as a comment to a review on Goodreads that it captures a moment in time perfectly, and it does. But I’m not sure how this can be a coming of age book if there’s no learning from mistakes.
  • Pioneer Girl: The Annotated Autobiography :
    4/5 Laura Ingalls Wilder, Pamela Smith Hill (editor) :
    4/5 I started the Little House series when I was pretty young, with my mom reading them to me before bed. Eventually, I finished it out on my own. And it’s always held a special place in my heart.
    Pioneer Girl is a more adult look at Laura’s life homesteading with her family. There are stories that weren’t included in the Little House series some included more adult situations and themes. And being an autobiography, it was more realistic — not everything was sunshine, roses and can-do pioneer spirit (for example the family moved back east at one point.) In my opinion the annotations are fantastic and what elevate the book out of its manuscript form. At times they do seem never ending. However they rarely break up the flow of the book and the photos, maps and expansions of the circumstances Laura writes about is worth it. Seriously, Genevieve (one of the girls Nellie Oleson is based on) may have been a city girl, but she was definitely not cute enough for her ‘tude. And I got to quietly side eye Almanzo along with everyone else who was calling him an old man while he was courting Laura, 10 years to his junior.
    The book is hefty, I’ve had actual textbooks that are smaller, but if you’re a fan of the Little House series it’s well worth the read.
  • Magic for Beginners — Kelly Link :
    4/5 Kelly Link, I think I love you. “There is never just one zombie.” And Kelly Link makes me feel all sorts of bizarre feelings and think about all sorts of weird things. I’ll be honest, I didn’t love this as much as I loved Get in Trouble but I really liked it (Carly Rae Jepsen style.) Yeah, I’m still late on the Link train BUT maybe I make up for it with my enthusiasm. These stories had a tiny thread that wove them together, making them a bit magical. And every time I came across that thread I couldn’t help but feeling delighted. Plus they’re the perfect stories for me to read one during my lunch break plus browse some social media and eat some food. Ya’know?
  • P.S. I Still Love You — Jenny Han :
    3/5 How ya gonna end that book on a Velveteen Rabbit quote though?
    I think I need to stop rashly immediately after reading the book. I’m not even sure if Ireally mean my 3 stars or if it would be better with a 2.
    I kind of hate Lara Jean. Judging by the average rating, I’m probably in the minority. It was a quick, easy read but I want to shout from the rooftops that high school is so, so small. And (mostly) Lara Jean, other than reflecting briefly about her sister’s failed HS romance, seems to think she’s going to beat the odds and be together for.ev.er. And I’m not that far removed from high school so I do remember everything feeling bigger and burning brighter and seemingly world ending. But (and maybe this is my removal from that age) I don’t remember my friends or me having our moods entirely dictated by the dude(s) we’re seeing. We had endless activities, jobs and school work to focus on. The sadness and anger would be like a flash. That said, Stormy and the other old lady (library loan and can’t check her name) gave some pretty fantastic advice. None of which LJ listened to. Girl, go on and make your own mistakes but if I had a Stormy in my life I’d be rolling with her advice any day.
  • Locke & Key, Vol. 3: Crown of Shadows — Joe Hill (w.) Gabriel Rodriguez (i.) :
    5/5 Brian K. Vaughn’s introduction described my feelings about Crown of Shadows perfectly. If I’d read the series in single issues, it would’ve been the first thing to read from my pull list. Normally, I’m pretty ambivalent about Rodriguez’s art but those Giant Key pages, man. The blending of supernatural and the raw emotion of losing a loved one and a family falling apart but so desperately trying to stay together makes this story pretty amazing.

As an, I think I’m going to start reviewing as I go. I’m going to try to get a few things written up this weekend for what I’ve read so far in September.

Standard

Leave a Reply

